This Is Irksome.

For the last several weeks, I have been up to my eyeballs in musical rehearsals.  And when I say “up to my eyeballs”, that is a euphemism for “If one more person thinks they have primary rights to my time and energy, I am going to lose my cell phone and make my Hotmail account crash my computer every time I try to open it.”  (I did those things anyway, just not on purpose.)  I may or may not have inadvertently laughed out loud when a student asked me to learn and rehearse his college-level piece with him six days before performing it at his competition.  It has been a busy, busy time.

How busy, you ask?  Why, thank you for asking – I will tell you!

This week I will help a professional soprano rehearse Verdi for an hour on Wednesday, and take my daughter to her orchestra rehearsal tonight and tomorrow night.  I will be playing for the Wizard of Oz from 6:00 to 9:30 p.m. (not counting the 40-minute drive each way) on Thursday night.  Friday is my daughter’s orchestra concert.  Saturday is the musical again from 1:00 to 4:30.  This is the calmest week I’ve had in a very long time.

I have put somewhere around 1000 miles on my car in the last month, the vast majority of it to local rehearsals in trips of 5 miles or less.

At the height of the madness, I played for seven student performances (all college-level literature) at State Solo Contest, drove over an hour back to the university, and spent what was left of the evening playing for student juries (also, obviously, college-level literature).  That was kind of a long day.

I updated my CV and repertoire list for a job interview.  I got hired.  Twice, actually.  No stress there.

Since the beginning of March, I have played for sixteen wear-a-black-dress-and-do-my-hair musical events.  I have played for an additional fifteen students at three separate competitive events.  I have accompanied three choirs, one musical theater group, sixteen solo singers, and solo instrumentalists playing the violin, viola, cello, oboe, clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, trumpet, French horn, trombone, tuba, piano, and pipe organ.  I have played on thirty-three different pianos, not counting my own beloved little Yamaha.  From April 20 to May 15, I had a total of two (2) days when I was not playing something somewhere for someone.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my job – but it does tend to hinder my blogging from time to time.  Priorities, you know.

Finally, this afternoon I realized I had the perfect combination of blogging elements.  I have the afternoon to myself, since my job is winding down for the school year but my kids are still in school.  I have finally gotten enough sleep to think in coherent sentences.  (A string of late nights, where you come home after 10 p.m. and your only thought is to get out of your black clothes into pajamas and try to get “We’re Off to See the Wizard” out of your head, is not conducive to restful sleep.)  I even have snark – I kept leaving little zingers on people’s Facebook walls without even thinking about it.  Not AT them, don’t worry, just supportive snark about whatever they were griping about.

The problem now is that I have nothing to be snarky about.  Snark cannot exist in a vacuum.

I just got my carpet replaced in the basement.  They did a fabulous job, in the time they said they’d do it, and cleaned up beautifully.

My daughter worked her butt off and pulled her grades up this semester, right to the point of asking a teacher to recheck a test answer (which was indeed marked wrong when it was right) since that percentage point was what she needed to bring that class grade up to an A.

I got my dream job, for a semester, which is perfect because it will give me a good idea of whether or not I want to do that bad enough to go back to school and get the degree I’ll need to do it as a long-term career.

The book I edited earlier in the year is slowly but steadily selling copies, and I got hired to edit another book by the same publishing company.

What, I ask you, am I supposed to do with all this good news?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This Is Irksome.

  1. Bask! We can wait for the snark. I rather like smiling at someone’s good fortune for a bit.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Enjoy! That’s what you should do! :)

  3. Have some cookies! And enjoy every second of your good fortune – you deserve it. Especially since we all know that your alternate career option as a serial killer would most likely seriously fall short of your present level of success. Oh, and burn some old mortgage paperwork in a fire pit out back with a nice cocktail. Mmmmmm…now isn’t that nice? Congratulations!

  4. Margie says:

    So Much Good News! If this keeps up, you might have to rename your blog!

  5. mysoulforsale says:

    Well, I have to agree with the others here… you’ve earned all your good news through hard work.

    However, if you REALLY want something to snark at, think about corporate white collar thieves, and how they’re stealing our children’s futures through environmental and economic degradation.

    Hope this helps! I LOVE being helpful! ;-)

  6. Bee says:

    Oh, I found some new snark, soulforsale – they just laid off the librarian at my son’s grade school to save money. Apparently the teachers will help the kids check out books, the kids will keep things tidied up (these are the same ones who have to be reminded to put shoes on in the morning), and the books will magically reshelve themselves. More to come on this topic, but first I have to write about my children and why I am not going to sell them on Ebay.

Leave a Reply

